Signal Boost! Fifty Shades of Futures Without Violence by Matt Fraction

Thursday Matt Fraction made the following post on this blog, it seems like a message worth hearing and participating in so click the break to read the post or visit the blog

So there’s a movie out this weekend based on books that romanticize, fetishize, glamorize and normalize abusive relationships. It will make 85 million dollars at the box office and move hundreds of millions of dollars of candy, soda, and cash-in branded merch.

And while sex is great and finding someone into all the stuff you’re into is great, sex is not consent to violence, a relationship is not permission to abuse, and there are thousands of women and children who have to deal with that fundamental and erroneous misconstruing of truth and wild misinterpretation of love every day.

For the last year and half or so I’ve curated a HAWKEYE shirt collection thanks to the fine folks at welovefine.com.

http://www.welovefine.com/artists-partners/163420-matt-fraction#.VN5tzIY76JI

And I’ve been donating my commission every quarter to FUTURES WITHOUT VIOLENCE (www.futureswithoutviolence.org).

And learn more about FWV here
http://www.futureswithoutviolence.org/about-us/our-mission/
So, thinking of that film and the violence it is going to inspire and normalize – and I’m talking about straight-up abuse, not a proclivity for bdsm – between the millions and millions of dollars it’ll earn made me a little sick to think about and I wanted to do something so I didn’t feel so useless and hopeless.

I’m going to MATCH DONATE TO FUTURESWITHOUTVIOLENCE.ORG MY WLF COMMISSIONS EARNED FROM 12 am THURSDAY 2/12 to 11:59 PM MONDAY 2/16.

Buy a HAWKGUY shirt or bag or whatever for you, for a gift, for the hell of it, and I’m gonna double the donation out of my own pocket. It’s not going to be 85 million dollars but it’s more than just giving up and going to see THE KINGS-MAN instead. There is no charity that can help people who see THE KINGS-MAN.

So!

http://www.welovefine.com/artists-partners/163420-matt-fraction#.VN5tzIY76JI
(I am typing this on my phone and will try to edit it when I get back in front of a screen again I hope there’s no mistakes)

Also I’m no longer on Twitter so help spread the word

RT RT RT RT RT RT RT RT RT RT RT RT

Published by

Alex Añé

I am a geek, writer, web developer and avid comic book fan.

Leave a Reply

